Phones · 2026 · Samsung

Samsung Galaxy S26

The Galaxy S26 is the smallest model in the series: a 6.3-inch 1–120 Hz AMOLED display, three rear cameras, 12 GB of RAM and Wi-Fi 7. In Europe and most markets it uses the Exynos 2600. Independent tests show longer battery life than the S25, but a clear performance drop under sustained load and slower charging than rivals.

SM-S942B/DS (Exynos 2600) · Black, 12 GB / 256 GB (SM-S942BZKGEUB)

Specifications

SpecificationValue
AnnouncementFebruary 25, 2026 (pre-orders opened the same day)
Model codeSM-S942B/DS (SM-S942BZKGEUB; Black, 12 GB / 256 GB)

Samsung varies the processor by market: the US, China and Japan versions use the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy. This entry covers the Exynos 2600 SM-S942B version.

Display6.3-inch Dynamic AMOLED 2X (6.1 inches accounting for rounded corners); 2340 × 1080 (FHD+)

The viewable area is smaller than the rectangular measurement because of the corners and camera hole.

Refresh rate1–120 Hz adaptive

The panel lowers its rate to match the content, slowing down on static images to save power and rising to 120 Hz for scrolling and games.

Peak brightness2,600 nits

This is Samsung's peak figure, not a brightness held across the full screen.

Cover glass and frameCorning Gorilla Glass Victus 2 front and back; Armor Aluminum frame
ProcessorSamsung Exynos 2600; 10 cores (3.8 / 3.26 / 2.76 GHz)
GraphicsSamsung Xclipse 960

Samsung says this GPU supports hardware ray tracing and is up to 50% faster at it than its predecessor.

CoolingRedesigned vapour chamber with a tailored thermal interface material

Samsung states up to 29% better heat dissipation for the S26; this is a figure from the maker's own testing.

Memory12 GB RAM
Storage256 GB (a 512 GB option also exists); no card slot

Usable space is lower than the total because of preloaded software. Options vary by country and carrier.

Main camera50 MP wide, f/1.8; autofocus and OIS
Ultrawide camera12 MP, f/2.2
Telephoto camera10 MP, f/2.4; 3x optical zoom
Zoom3x optical; 2x optical-quality via the main sensor; up to 30x digital

The 2x optical-quality zoom uses the centre of the main camera's Adaptive Pixel sensor; it is not a separate lens.

Front camera12 MP, f/2.2; autofocus
VideoUp to 8K 30 fps recording; FHD 240 fps slow motion
Battery4,300 mAh (typical); 4,175 mAh rated; non-removable

Samsung quotes up to 30 hours of video playback; the typical figure was measured by a third-party lab to IEC 61960.

Wired charging25 W; up to 55% in about 30 minutes

The figure was measured from 0% with a 25 W Samsung adapter and 3 A USB-C cable, screen off. The adapter and cable are sold separately.

Wireless chargingFast Wireless Charging 2.0 (WPC compatible); Wireless PowerShare

PowerShare works only with certain Qi-compatible phones and wearables and may not work below 30% battery.

Wi-FiWi-Fi 7 (802.11be); 2.4 + 5 + 6 GHz; Wi-Fi Direct

Wi-Fi 7 speeds need a Wi-Fi 7 router; 6 GHz use varies by country.

BluetoothBluetooth 5.4
USBUSB Type-C, USB 3.2 Gen 1

USB 3.2 Gen 1 carries up to 5 Gbit/s of data, which speeds up wired transfers of large video files to a computer.

SIMDual SIM: nano-SIM + eSIM
Cellular5G Sub-6, 4G LTE, 3G, 2G

Band support varies by market.

LocationGPS, GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, QZSS
SensorsAccelerometer, barometer, fingerprint, gyro, geomagnetic, Hall, light and proximity sensors
Desktop modeSamsung DeX supported
Dimensions149.6 × 71.7 × 7.2 mm
Weight167 g

Weight may vary by country and configuration.

DurabilityIP68; up to 1.5 m of fresh water for up to 30 minutes (lab test)

Water and dust resistance can decline over time with normal wear.

SoftwareShips with Android 16 / One UI 8.5
Security updatesUntil February 28, 2033
Colour optionsCobalt Violet, Sky Blue, Black, White; Samsung.com-only Silver Shadow and Pink Gold; this entry is Black

From the manufacturer

Samsung presents the S26 as its third-generation AI phone with a more intuitive and proactive Galaxy AI, says the redesigned vapour chamber improves heat dissipation by up to 29%, and promises seven years of security updates. Samsung Newsroom

Strengths and limitations

  • In GSMArena's measurements the display hit 751 nits manually and about 1,383 nits in auto brightness on a 75% white area, and 2,552 nits on a 10% patch. It drops to 1 Hz when idle. HDR tops out at HDR10+; there is no Dolby Vision.

    GSMArena review unit, Exynos 2600, March 2026; standard display test.

    GSMArena: Samsung Galaxy S26 review, lab tests
  • GSMArena's Active Use battery score is 15 hours 20 minutes. On 25 W it measured 34% in 15 minutes, 62% in 30 minutes and a full charge in 1 hour 4 minutes; the team found charging faster than the S25 but slower than most rivals. The phone is Qi2 compliant at 15 W but has no built-in magnets.

    GSMArena review unit, Exynos 2600, March 2026; 25 W USB PD/PPS charging.

    GSMArena: Samsung Galaxy S26 review, lab tests
  • In GSMArena's sustained-load tests performance dropped about 40% in the CPU stress test and more than 50% in the GPU stress test. The team found the Exynos 2600 behind the Snapdragon version, especially in single-core CPU and graphics; results were close to the S25 and slightly below the S26+.

    GSMArena review unit, Exynos 2600, 12 GB RAM; synthetic stress tests, duration and ambient temperature not stated.

    GSMArena: Samsung Galaxy S26 review, performance
  • In an Android Addicts test reported by GSMArena, a European (Exynos 2600) and a US (Snapdragon) S26 were drained side by side on the same network. The Exynos unit shut down after 6 hours 48 minutes, the Snapdragon unit ran 2 hours 38 minutes longer, and the Exynos unit could not finish a 30-minute 4K30 recording because of heat.

    Third-party video test, March 2026; one unit of each version, 12 GB / 512 GB; brightness and usage pattern not detailed. A single comparison, not a general rate.

    GSMArena: Exynos 2600-equipped Galaxy S26 disappoints in battery test

Owner experiences and issues

  • Heat comes up repeatedly in owner reviews on Samsung UK: FaithM (August 2026) says the battery does not last the day and the phone warms up even off the charger, and Araz Golders (July 2026) says the front heats up and the replacement unit did too. Taha says the Minecraft heating happened on One UI 8.5 and went away on One UI 9.0.

    Samsung UK product page, 256 GB SM-S942B reviews (FaithM and Araz Golders on Cobalt Violet SM-S942BZVGEUB); three separate people, no measurements. No failure rate or definite cause can be drawn.

    Samsung UK: Galaxy S26 customer reviews
  • Dory71 (April 2026, Black SM-S942BZKGEUB) reports software problems including screen flicker, app crashes and the fingerprint reader failing to recognise them. Sevkk0 writes that the phone feels very similar to the S25.

    Samsung UK product page; single-user reports, software version not stated.

    Samsung UK: Galaxy S26 customer reviews
  • Most of the short reviews syndicated from Argos are positive: Chekee16 likes the battery, camera and speed compared with their old phone; hristoff praises the smoothness, display and battery; Hafi finds the size and features better than the S25.

    March 2026 reviews syndicated from Argos on the Samsung UK page; short texts, ownership length and colour not stated.

    Samsung UK: Galaxy S26 customer reviews

Tags

Compare

Sources

  1. Samsung Newsroom: Galaxy S26 series announcement and specifications
  2. Samsung UK: Galaxy S26 and S26+ product page
  3. Samsung South Africa: Galaxy S26 (SM-S942BZVPAFA) specifications
  4. Samsung Semiconductor: Exynos 2600
  5. GSMArena: Samsung Galaxy S26 review, lab tests
  6. GSMArena: Samsung Galaxy S26 review, performance
  7. GSMArena: Exynos 2600-equipped Galaxy S26 disappoints in battery test
  8. Samsung UK: Galaxy S26 customer reviews