Laptops · 2024 · ASUS

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2024) GA403UI

The Zephyrus G14 (2024) is ASUS’s 14-inch aluminium gaming and creator laptop. The GA403UI variant offers a Ryzen 9 8945HS processor, an RTX 4070 Laptop GPU that can draw up to 90 W, a 120 Hz 3K OLED display and a weight of 1.5 kg. Independent testing praised the OLED panel and portability; it criticised soldered memory, PWM below 60% brightness, fan noise in Turbo mode and small Enter/arrow keys. Owner reports mention display, camera and random shutdown issues as separate single cases.

GA403UI-QS101X variant (same hardware as QS100X): AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop GPU (8 GB), 32 GB LPDDR5X, 1 TB SSD, Windows 11 Pro. The RTX 4060 GA403UV, the RTX 4050 GA403UU and the 2025 G14 are separate models.

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2024) GA403UI — ASUS family image of the ROG Zephyrus G14 (2024) in Eclipse Gray; the image does not show the GPU variant, and the colour of this SKU is not stated in the documents.
ASUS family image of the ROG Zephyrus G14 (2024) in Eclipse Gray; the image does not show the GPU variant, and the colour of this SKU is not stated in the documents.

Specifications

SpecificationValue
ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 8945HS (8 cores / 16 threads, 4.0 GHz, up to 5.2 GHz, 24 MB cache, 16 TOPS XDNA NPU)

24 MB is 8 MB of L2 plus 16 MB of L3 cache. The processor’s integrated Radeon 780M graphics handles light work when Advanced Optimus is active.

GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop GPU; 8 GB GDDR6; ROG Boost 1655 MHz; 90 W (65 W TGP + 25 W Dynamic Boost)

1655 MHz is the 1605 MHz boost clock plus a 50 MHz ASUS overclock. The 90 W ceiling is lower than RTX 4070 configurations in large 16–18-inch laptops and was chosen for the thin chassis. The GPU cannot be upgraded.

GPU switchingMUX Switch and NVIDIA Advanced Optimus

The MUX switch connects the internal display directly to the NVIDIA GPU; Advanced Optimus does this switch without a restart.

Display14-inch 3K OLED; 2880 × 1800 (16:10); 120 Hz; 0.2 ms; 100% DCI-P3; G-Sync and Adaptive-Sync; anti-glare low-reflection (AGLR) surface; Pantone Validated

Each OLED pixel makes its own light, so blacks are fully dark; leaving static images on screen for long periods raises the risk of image retention.

Memory32 GB LPDDR5X-6400 on board; not expandable

Memory cannot be increased later, so the amount should be chosen at purchase.

Storage1 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; 1 × M.2 slot

There is a single M.2 slot, so more capacity means replacing the existing SSD with a larger one.

Ports1 × USB4 Type-C (DisplayPort, Power Delivery, 40 Gb/s); 1 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C (DisplayPort); 2 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 FRL; microSD (UHS-II) card reader; 3.5 mm combo audio jack

There is no wired Ethernet port; independent testing listed this and the lack of Wi-Fi 7 as drawbacks.

WirelessWi-Fi 6E (tri-band, 2 × 2); Bluetooth 5.2
Keyboard and camera1-zone RGB keyboard; 1080p IR camera (Windows Hello)

Independent testing found the Enter and arrow keys small.

Audio4 speakers with dual force-cancelling woofers plus 2 tweeters; Dolby Atmos; AI noise cancelation
Battery and power73 Wh 4-cell lithium-ion battery; 180 W adapter; plus a 100 W USB-C adapter

On battery the GPU runs at a lower limit; full performance needs the 180 W adapter.

Operating systemWindows 11 Pro
Chassis and lightingAluminium chassis; Slash Lighting strip on the lid
Size and weight31.1 × 22.0 × 1.59–1.63 cm; 1.50 kg

From the manufacturer

ASUS presents the 2024 G14 with a CNC aluminium chassis, a ROG Nebula Display OLED panel and the Slash Lighting strip. ASUS ROG

Strengths and limitations

  • In Notebookcheck’s measurements the OLED display delivered an average of 423.6 and a maximum of 428 cd/m² in SDR with 42,300:1 contrast; HDR peak brightness stayed at 485 cd/m². 960 Hz PWM was measured at 60% brightness and below, with DC dimming above that. Response times were 0.68 / 0.62 ms. The GPU was limited to 75 W in Performance mode, 90 W in Turbo and 42 W on battery; gaming performance stayed stable. Maximum fan noise was 42.9 dB(A) in Silent, 46.2 in Performance and 52.8 in Turbo. Criticism: soldered memory, HDR that has to be enabled manually and breaks colour profiles, no Ethernet or Wi-Fi 7, small Enter/arrow keys.

    Notebookcheck review (February 2024), one GA403UI unit with RTX 4070 and 32 GB.

    Notebookcheck: Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 2024 review

Owner experiences and issues

  • Best Buy Canada reviews of the G14 (2024) contain separate single reports: one owner wrote that the screen wobbled when the desk moved and voiced concern about the liquid-metal cooling; another said the camera failed within a year and the display was replaced; another had random hangs and shutdowns without gaming; and one owner reported lag in Diablo 4.

    The Best Buy Canada listing is the R7 8845HS / 16 GB / RTX 4050 base configuration; some reviews are syndicated from asus.com and most do not state the GPU variant. A 2022 G14 review was excluded.

    Best Buy Canada: ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2024) customer reviews

Tags

Compare

Sources

  1. ASUS ROG: ROG Zephyrus G14 (2024) tech specs
  2. Notebookcheck: Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 2024 review
  3. Best Buy Canada: ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2024) customer reviews