ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CX / ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CX: GU605CX: the RTX 5090 Laptop GPU version; the GU605CX-QR111W and GU605CX-XS98 listed by ASUS come with 64 GB of memory and a 2 TB SSD. In the US, the GU605CX-G16.U9X5090 sold by Best Buy is listed with 32 GB. The same chassis is also sold with the RTX 5060/5070/5070 Ti/5080.

ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB: G614JV-BS74-CB: Intel Core i7-13650HX, GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU 8 GB, 16 GB DDR5, 1 TB SSD, 16-inch FHD+ 165 Hz display (Canadian SKU). The RTX 4050 G614JU, the RTX 4070 G614JI and the QHD+ 240 Hz display versions in the same chassis are separate.

SpecificationASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CXASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB
Release year20252023
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 285H; 16 cores, 16 threads; 2.9 GHz base, up to 5.4 GHz; 24 MB cache

The processor’s Intel AI Boost NPU delivers up to 13 TOPS of AI processing; some Windows AI features use this unit instead of the graphics card.

ASUS
Intel Core i7-13650HX; 14 cores (6 performance + 8 efficiency), 2.6 GHz, up to 4.9 GHz, 24 MB cache

HX-series chips are near-desktop laptop processors that run at high power limits; fan noise and temperature depend on the ASUS power profile chosen.

ASUS
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop GPU, 24 GB GDDR7; ROG Boost 1647 MHz; 120 W (100 W + 20 W Dynamic Boost)

120 W is the upper power limit including Dynamic Boost: the extra 20 W is shifted to the GPU when the processor load is low and is not always available. The RTX 5070 Ti version of the same chassis is limited to 115 W, and the RTX 5060 and 5070 versions to 105 W.

ASUS
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU; 8 GB GDDR6; ROG Boost 2420 MHz; 140 W (115 W + 25 W Dynamic Boost)

2420 MHz is the 2370 MHz boost clock plus a 50 MHz ASUS overclock. 115 W is the upper power class for the RTX 4060 Laptop; Dynamic Boost shifts spare CPU power to the GPU. The graphics chip is soldered to the motherboard and cannot be upgraded.

ASUS
Graphics switchingMUX Switch and NVIDIA Advanced Optimus

Advanced Optimus switches the internal display between the processor’s integrated graphics and the RTX 5090 without a restart. The MUX switch connects the display directly to the RTX 5090, removing the integrated graphics from the path in games.

ASUS
—
Display16-inch 2.5K (2560 × 1600) OLED, 16:10, 240 Hz; 100% DCI-P3; G-Sync; Pantone Validated

240 Hz shows up to 240 frames per second in games; G-Sync matches the display refresh rate to the graphics card’s frame rate to prevent tearing. Pantone Validated means the display colours are verified against Pantone reference colours. ASUS does not give brightness or response time on this page.

ASUS
16-inch FHD+ (1920 × 1200, 16:10); IPS-level, anti-glare; 165 Hz; 7 ms; sRGB 100%

165 Hz shows smoother motion at up to 165 frames per second in games, provided the game reaches that frame rate. “IPS-level” means ASUS does not state the exact panel type.

ASUS
Display surfaceAnti-glare, low-reflection coating (AGLR)

The coating is used to reduce reflections from lamps and windows in bright rooms.

ASUS
—
Memory64 GB LPDDR5X-7467, soldered on board, dual channel; no memory slot

Memory cannot be upgraded later; the capacity chosen at purchase is permanent.

ASUS
16 GB (2 × 8 GB) DDR5-4800 SO-DIMM; 2 slots; up to 32 GB according to ASUS

The memory modules are replaceable; both slots are filled for dual-channel operation.

ASUS
Storage2 TB M.2 NVMe PCIe 4.0 SSD; 2 × M.2 PCIe slots in total

The second M.2 slot allows an extra SSD. ASUS gives no separate PCIe generation for the free slot.

ASUS
1 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 × M.2 PCIe slots

The second M.2 slot can take an additional SSD.

ASUS
Ports1 × Thunderbolt 4 (40 Gbps, DisplayPort, power input); 1 × USB-C 10 Gbps (DisplayPort, power input, G-SYNC); 2 × USB-A 10 Gbps; HDMI 2.1 FRL; UHS-II SD card reader (312 MB/s); 3.5 mm audio

Both USB-C ports support an external display and charging; the 10 Gbps USB-C port also carries G-SYNC to an external display. ASUS does not state the USB-C charging power.

ASUS
1 × Thunderbolt 4 (DisplayPort, 40 Gbit/s); 1 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C (DisplayPort, power delivery, G-SYNC, 10 Gbit/s); 2 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 FRL; RJ45 LAN; 3.5 mm audio jack

The Thunderbolt 4 port does not accept charging; USB-C charging goes through the other Type-C port. There is no SD card reader.

ASUS
WirelessWi-Fi 7 (802.11be), tri-band, 2×2; Bluetooth 5.4 ASUSWi‑Fi 6E (triple band, 2 × 2); Bluetooth 5.2 ASUS
Battery and adapter90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 240 W adapter (20 V, 12 A)

ASUS’s Middle East page also lists a 100 W USB-C adapter in the box and notes that the adapter can vary by region and model.

ASUS
—
Audio2 tweeters and 4 speakers with dual force-cancelling woofers; Smart Amp; Dolby Atmos; 3-microphone array, AI noise cancelling

The force-cancelling woofer layout uses opposing drivers to reduce bass vibration passing into the chassis.

ASUS
—
Camera and keyboard1080p FHD IR camera (Windows Hello); single-zone RGB backlit keyboard; Slash Lighting on the lid

The IR camera enables face sign-in with Windows Hello.

ASUS
—
Dimensions and weight35.4 × 24.6 × 1.49–1.74 cm; 1.95 kg

The RTX 5060 and 5070 versions are 1.64 cm and 1.85 kg; the RTX 5070 Ti, 5080 and 5090 versions are 1.74 cm and 1.95 kg.

ASUS
—
Operating systemWindows 11 Home or Windows 11 Pro (depending on SKU) ASUS—
Keyboard and lighting—Per-key RGB backlit chiclet keyboard; Aura Sync light bar

There is no numeric keypad.

ASUS
Audio and camera—2 speakers, Dolby Atmos, AI noise cancelling; 720p HD camera

There is no face-recognition camera or fingerprint reader.

ASUS
Battery and power—90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 280 W adapter (ø6.0 mm)

The 280 W adapter is needed for full GPU and CPU power; performance drops on battery.

ASUS
Operating system and security—Windows 11 Home; firmware TPM; BIOS password ASUS
Size and weight—35.4 × 26.4 × 2.26–3.04 cm; 2.50 kg ASUS