ASUS ROG Strix SCAR 16 (2025) G635LX / ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB

ASUS ROG Strix SCAR 16 (2025) G635LX: G635LX · RTX 5090 Laptop GPU · 32 GB / 1 TB or 2×16 GB / 2 TB

ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB: G614JV-BS74-CB: Intel Core i7-13650HX, GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU 8 GB, 16 GB DDR5, 1 TB SSD, 16-inch FHD+ 165 Hz display (Canadian SKU). The RTX 4050 G614JU, the RTX 4070 G614JI and the QHD+ 240 Hz display versions in the same chassis are separate.

SpecificationASUS ROG Strix SCAR 16 (2025) G635LXASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB
Release year20252023
Model and configurationG635LX · Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX · RTX 5090 Laptop GPU

ASUS's US spec page shows two G635LX configurations: Windows 11 Home, 1×32 GB, 1 TB, and Windows 11 Pro, 2×16 GB, 2 TB. The G635LW with the RTX 5080 Laptop GPU is a separate model.

ASUS
—
Operating systemWindows 11 Home or Windows 11 Pro (depending on configuration) ASUS—
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 275HX; 24 cores (8 P + 16 E), 24 threads, up to 5.4 GHz, 36 MB cache

Intel rates the chip at 55 W base and 160 W maximum turbo power. In this laptop ASUS allocates 55 W to the CPU in Turbo mode and an extra 25 W in Manual mode; its graphic shows up to 80 W for the CPU.

ASUS
Intel Core i7-13650HX; 14 cores (6 performance + 8 efficiency), 2.6 GHz, up to 4.9 GHz, 24 MB cache

HX-series chips are near-desktop laptop processors that run at high power limits; fan noise and temperature depend on the ASUS power profile chosen.

ASUS
NPUIntel AI Boost, up to 13 TOPS

TOPS is trillions of operations per second the neural accelerator can perform (Int8). 13 TOPS is below the 40 TOPS Microsoft asks for Copilot+ PCs.

ASUS
—
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop GPU; ROG Boost 1647 MHz at 175 W (150 W + 25 W Dynamic Boost); 24 GB GDDR7

175 W is the ceiling including 25 W Dynamic Boost shifted to the GPU when the CPU is lightly loaded; it is not a constant draw in every game. The RTX 5090 Laptop GPU is not the desktop RTX 5090. Graphics memory is soldered.

ASUS
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU; 8 GB GDDR6; ROG Boost 2420 MHz; 140 W (115 W + 25 W Dynamic Boost)

2420 MHz is the 2370 MHz boost clock plus a 50 MHz ASUS overclock. 115 W is the upper power class for the RTX 4060 Laptop; Dynamic Boost shifts spare CPU power to the GPU. The graphics chip is soldered to the motherboard and cannot be upgraded.

ASUS
GPU switchingNVIDIA Advanced Optimus and Dynamic Boost (Max-Q technologies)

Advanced Optimus can route the panel straight to the discrete GPU when a game starts without a reboot, and fall back to integrated graphics on the desktop to save battery.

ASUS
—
Display16-inch 2560×1600 (16:10) ROG Nebula HDR Mini LED; 240 Hz, 3 ms, 100% DCI-P3, anti-glare

ASUS quotes more than 2,000 local dimming zones and 1,200 nits peak; the peak applies to small HDR highlights, not sustained full-screen brightness. The panel is Pantone Validated.

ASUS
16-inch FHD+ (1920 × 1200, 16:10); IPS-level, anti-glare; 165 Hz; 7 ms; sRGB 100%

165 Hz shows smoother motion at up to 165 frames per second in games, provided the game reaches that frame rate. “IPS-level” means ASUS does not state the exact panel type.

ASUS
Variable refresh and HDRNVIDIA G-SYNC; Dolby Vision

G-SYNC matches the panel refresh to the GPU frame rate to reduce tearing. The spec sheet also lists G-SYNC for external displays connected over Thunderbolt 5.

ASUS
—
Panel coatingDual ACR (anti-reflection) layer

ASUS says the layer reduces reflections and improves contrast by 4.5x; this is a manufacturer claim.

ASUS
—
MemoryDDR5-5600 SO-DIMM, two slots, dual channel; 1×32 GB or 2×16 GB; up to 64 GB

SO-DIMM modules are not soldered and can be swapped under the bottom cover. The single 32 GB module configuration runs single-channel until the second slot is filled. The product page mentions DDR5-6400 elsewhere; the spec sheet value of 5600 is used here.

ASUS
16 GB (2 × 8 GB) DDR5-4800 SO-DIMM; 2 slots; up to 32 GB according to ASUS

The memory modules are replaceable; both slots are filled for dual-channel operation.

ASUS
Storage1 TB or 2 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; two M.2 slots

SSDs are held by tool-less Q-Latch clips. The ASUS product page calls the slots “PCIe Gen 5 ready”, but the spec sheet says PCIe 4.0 and one independent test reported no 5.0 support. Because of nearby components, only single-sided SSDs are supported.

ASUS
1 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 × M.2 PCIe slots

The second M.2 slot can take an additional SSD.

ASUS
Ports2× Thunderbolt 5 (120 Gbit/s; DisplayPort, power delivery, G-SYNC); 3× USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A (10 Gbit/s); HDMI; 2.5G LAN; 3.5 mm audio

120 Gbit/s is the Thunderbolt 5 one-way Bandwidth Boost rate; the normal bidirectional bandwidth is 80 Gbit/s. There is no card reader. The HDMI version is not stated on the spec sheet.

ASUS
1 × Thunderbolt 4 (DisplayPort, 40 Gbit/s); 1 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C (DisplayPort, power delivery, G-SYNC, 10 Gbit/s); 2 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 FRL; RJ45 LAN; 3.5 mm audio jack

The Thunderbolt 4 port does not accept charging; USB-C charging goes through the other Type-C port. There is no SD card reader.

ASUS
WirelessWi-Fi 7 (802.11be) tri-band 2×2; Bluetooth 5.4 ASUSWi‑Fi 6E (triple band, 2 × 2); Bluetooth 5.2 ASUS
CoolingEnd-to-end vapor chamber, sandwiched heatsink, three fans; liquid metal on CPU and GPU

The third auxiliary fan moves heat from the GPU and VRAM to the heatsinks. The up-to-15 °C drop ASUS quotes for liquid metal comes from its internal test against the previous-generation compound.

ASUS
—
Power modesTurbo: CPU 55 W + GPU 175 W (230 W total); Manual: CPU 80 W + GPU 175 W (255 W total)

These are the manufacturer ceilings under simultaneous full load; in Silent mode the GPU runs at a far lower limit.

ASUS
—
Service accessTool-less bottom cover: access to two SO-DIMM slots, two M.2 slots and fans

ASUS says the mainboard frame comes off with a few screws. An independent test reported that the Wi-Fi module is soldered.

ASUS
—
KeyboardPer-key RGB chiclet keyboard, ROG Overstroke; NumberPad on the touchpad; Copilot key

Overstroke registers a press earlier in the key travel. ASUS rates the switches for 20 million presses and lists n-key rollover.

ASUS
—
LightingAniMe Vision lid display (810 LEDs), wraparound light bar, AURA Sync logo

All lighting can be switched off.

ASUS
—
Camera and audio1080p FHD IR camera (Windows Hello); four speakers, Smart Amp, Dolby Atmos; array microphone

The camera has no mechanical shutter.

ASUS
—
Battery and adapter90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 380 W adapter (20 V/19 A)

The Thunderbolt 5 ports accept power delivery; with a lower-power USB-C charger the battery can still drain under gaming load.

ASUS
—
Size and weight35.4 × 26.8 × 2.28–3.08 cm; 2.80 kg

Adapter weight not included.

ASUS
35.4 × 26.4 × 2.26–3.04 cm; 2.50 kg ASUS
SecurityFirmware TPM, BIOS password ASUS—
Keyboard and lighting—Per-key RGB backlit chiclet keyboard; Aura Sync light bar

There is no numeric keypad.

ASUS
Audio and camera—2 speakers, Dolby Atmos, AI noise cancelling; 720p HD camera

There is no face-recognition camera or fingerprint reader.

ASUS
Battery and power—90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 280 W adapter (ø6.0 mm)

The 280 W adapter is needed for full GPU and CPU power; performance drops on battery.

ASUS
Operating system and security—Windows 11 Home; firmware TPM; BIOS password ASUS