MSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US / ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB

MSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US: A9WIG-082US (US, part no. RAIDERA18HX082): Ryzen 9 9955HX3D, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU 16 GB, 32 GB DDR5, 2 TB Gen5 SSD, 18-inch UHD+ Mini LED, Windows 11 Pro, Core Black. The RTX 5090 A9WJG, the Ryzen 8000 HX A8WIG and the Intel-based Raider 18 HX AI are separate models.

ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB: G614JV-BS74-CB: Intel Core i7-13650HX, GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU 8 GB, 16 GB DDR5, 1 TB SSD, 16-inch FHD+ 165 Hz display (Canadian SKU). The RTX 4050 G614JU, the RTX 4070 G614JI and the QHD+ 240 Hz display versions in the same chassis are separate.

SpecificationMSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082USASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB
Release year20252023
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 16 GB GDDR7; up to 175 W including TGP and Dynamic Boost; boost up to 2,287 MHz

175 W is the highest GPU power MSI gives in this chassis; CPU and GPU together can draw up to 260 W (OverBoost Ultra). The desktop RTX 5080 is a separate card.

MSI
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU; 8 GB GDDR6; ROG Boost 2420 MHz; 140 W (115 W + 25 W Dynamic Boost)

2420 MHz is the 2370 MHz boost clock plus a 50 MHz ASUS overclock. 115 W is the upper power class for the RTX 4060 Laptop; Dynamic Boost shifts spare CPU power to the GPU. The graphics chip is soldered to the motherboard and cannot be upgraded.

ASUS
ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 9955HX3D, 2.5–5.4 GHz

The processor’s stacked extra cache, called 3D V-Cache, keeps frequently used game data close, which helps frame rates especially in large open-world games.

MSI
Intel Core i7-13650HX; 14 cores (6 performance + 8 efficiency), 2.6 GHz, up to 4.9 GHz, 24 MB cache

HX-series chips are near-desktop laptop processors that run at high power limits; fan noise and temperature depend on the ASUS power profile chosen.

ASUS
Display18-inch UHD+ 3840 × 2400, 16:10, 120 Hz Mini LED; VESA DisplayHDR 1000; 100% DCI-P3

The Mini LED backlight dims zones individually for high HDR brightness and deeper blacks; DisplayHDR 1000 is the tier certifying 1,000-nit peak brightness. Because of the high resolution, refresh is limited to 120 Hz.

MSI
16-inch FHD+ (1920 × 1200, 16:10); IPS-level, anti-glare; 165 Hz; 7 ms; sRGB 100%

165 Hz shows smoother motion at up to 165 frames per second in games, provided the game reaches that frame rate. “IPS-level” means ASUS does not state the exact panel type.

ASUS
Memory32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB); two slots, up to 96 GB

Both slots come filled; reaching 96 GB means fitting two 48 GB modules.

MSI
16 GB (2 × 8 GB) DDR5-4800 SO-DIMM; 2 slots; up to 32 GB according to ASUS

The memory modules are replaceable; both slots are filled for dual-channel operation.

ASUS
Storage2 TB NVMe SSD (PCIe Gen5 x4); one PCIe Gen5 and one PCIe Gen4 M.2 slot

The second M.2 slot runs at Gen4; an added SSD there tops out at Gen4 speed.

MSI
1 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 × M.2 PCIe slots

The second M.2 slot can take an additional SSD.

ASUS
Ports2 × USB4 Type-C (DisplayPort and PD 3.1; Thunderbolt 4 compatible); 3 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 (8K 60 Hz / 4K 120 Hz); 3.5 mm audio combo jack

The USB4 ports are listed as compatible with Thunderbolt 4 accessories, but MSI does not state separate Thunderbolt certification; PD 3.1 allows USB-C charging, while full gaming power needs the 400 W adapter.

MSI
1 × Thunderbolt 4 (DisplayPort, 40 Gbit/s); 1 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C (DisplayPort, power delivery, G-SYNC, 10 Gbit/s); 2 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 FRL; RJ45 LAN; 3.5 mm audio jack

The Thunderbolt 4 port does not accept charging; USB-C charging goes through the other Type-C port. There is no SD card reader.

ASUS
Card reader and networkFull-size SD card reader (UHS-III); 2.5 Gbit Ethernet; MediaTek Wi-Fi 7; Bluetooth 5.4

UHS-III gives faster reads than UHS-II with compatible cards; the full-size slot reads camera cards without an adapter.

MSI
—
Audio, camera and keyboardDynaudio-tuned 4 × 2 W speakers and 2 × 2 W woofers; 1080p IR camera with privacy shutter; SteelSeries per-key RGB, 99 keys

The IR camera enables Windows Hello face sign-in; the physical shutter blocks the camera.

MSI
—
Battery and adapter99.9 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 400 W adapter

99.9 Wh is just under the limit for laptop batteries allowed on planes.

MSI
—
Size and weight404 × 307.5 × 24–32.05 mm; 3.6 kg

The weight excludes the 400 W adapter.

MSI
35.4 × 26.4 × 2.26–3.04 cm; 2.50 kg ASUS
Operating systemWindows 11 Pro; fTPM 2.0 MSI—
Warranty and colour1-year limited warranty (1-year global coverage); Core Black MSI—
Wireless—Wi‑Fi 6E (triple band, 2 × 2); Bluetooth 5.2 ASUS
Keyboard and lighting—Per-key RGB backlit chiclet keyboard; Aura Sync light bar

There is no numeric keypad.

ASUS
Audio and camera—2 speakers, Dolby Atmos, AI noise cancelling; 720p HD camera

There is no face-recognition camera or fingerprint reader.

ASUS
Battery and power—90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 280 W adapter (ø6.0 mm)

The 280 W adapter is needed for full GPU and CPU power; performance drops on battery.

ASUS
Operating system and security—Windows 11 Home; firmware TPM; BIOS password ASUS